1959-60 Chatham Senior Maroons

Sport: Hockey
Level: Senior “A”
Year of Induction: 1999

Front Row: George Aitken, Cesare Maniago, A.L. Mark Hanna (President, Chatham Hockey Association), Ted Power (captain), George Sherman (Vice-president Chatham Hockey Association), Don Mills, Billy Forhan Middle Row:  John Horeck (coach), Frank Bathgate, Elmer Skov, Fred Pletch, Copper Leyte, Ivan Tennant, Joe Malo, Tommy Jaques (trainer) Back Row: Garry Sharpe, Jim Connelly, Don McGregor, Al Cleary, Jack Douglas Absent – Jack Stoddart, Dr. Doug Keely (team doctor), Larry Keenan (assistant trainer)
1959-60 Sr. Maroons players inducted into the Chatham Sports Hall of Fame, 1999
L to R – Joe Malo, Ted Power, Copper Leyte, Dr. Doug Keely (team doctor), Don McGregor, Ivan Tennant, Larry Keenan (assistant trainer), George Aitken
Team Highlights

The Chatham Senior Maroons had a long and storied history in hockey beginning in 1928 as the Stirling Imperials and running through to 1964. The team that single-handedly the best amateur hockey team in Canada. For two months in the spring of 1960, the maroons brought distinction to our community was the 1959-60 Maroons who won the Allen cup which signifies galvanized the city like no other and were excellent ambassadors who kept Chatham on the sporting map.

The road to the Allen Cup was:

  • April 2 – beat Windsor Bulldogs 4 games to 2 to win the Ontario Hockey Association Senior “A” title
  • April 11 – after losing the first 2 games, beat Rouyn-Noranda Alouettes 3 games to 2 for the all-Ontario Championship
  • April 20 – beat Hull Legion 3 games to 1 in the Eastern Canada Allen Cup finals
  • May 2 – beat Trail (B.C.) Smoke Eaters in Trail 9 points to 1 in an 8-point series to win the Allen Cup