1937-38 Chatham Senior Maroons

Sport: Hockey
Level: Senior “B”
Year of Induction: 2004

Top Row:  Ken Begin, Ives Dagneau, Ches Dawson, Greg Haggerty, Bobby Hales Second Row: Bill Hepburn, Don Hinnegan Third Row: Bill L’Heureux, Bill Stevens (manager), Leo Riese (coach), Pete Lemiski Bottom Row:  Bobby Murrell, Freddie Peardon, Lew Sadler, Alf Stevens, Bob Stoddard, Polly Everitt (trainer)
Captain Alf Stevens (right) receives championship trophy from OHA representative
Ives Dagneau at the Induction into the Chatham Sports Hall of Fame, 2004
Team Highlights

These Maroons were the first Chatham team to win an OHA title. In 1937-38 they competed in the Michigan Ontario Amateur Hockey league and then entered OHA Playdowns while still finishing MOHL playoffs. In the semi-final 2 out of 3 series they beat Kitchener Greenshirts 2 games to 1 and in the finals they eliminated Niagara Falls Cataracts in 2 straight games to become OHA Senior “B” Champions. It was the first time in 20 years of competition that a Chatham team had won an OHA title. They then went on to compete for the Allan Cup beating the Intermediate “A” Champion Preston Riversides in 2 straight games before dropping a total goals series 1-1 and 5-0 to the Northern winners Falconbridge Falcons in the finals.