About Us ] Links of Interest ] The Hall ] Members ] News and Events ] Membership Quick List ] Kiosk Pictures ] CSHF Picture Gallery ] Video Gallery ]
 McGregor Memories Link

1934 Colored All Stars Baseball Team
1937-38 SR. Maroons
1949-50 St.Clair Maroons
1953 BR.431 Bantam Baseball All Stars
1956 BR 431 Bantam Baseball All Stars
1958-59 Rotary JUV. Hockey
1959-60 Senior Maroons
1969-71 S. Elliott Perf Racing
1973 Kinsmen Pee Wee Baseball Team
1974-75 JMSS Boys Basketball Team
1977-78 Chatham Royals Inter. "C" Hockey
1979 Huron & Erie Beverages Midgets
1983-84 & 1984-85 Maple City Jr.Ice Crystals
1985 Chatham Juvenile Baseball Team
1985-86 JMSS Girls Basketball Team
1986-87 BR28 Bantams Team
1989-90 CKSS Boys ""AA" Volleyballl Team
1992-93 JMSS Girls Basketball Team
1997 Sun-Out Diamonds Sr. Baseball Team
1998-99 JR.Maroons
Archie Stirling
Arthur Pelkey
Bill Atkinson
Bill Robinson
Bill Stobbs
Bob Weedon
Brian Wiseman
Carrie Carleton (Dillon)
Casey Maynard
Ches Dawson
Courtney Babcock
Leyte Wilson "Copper"
Dale Lahey
Dan Lewis
Dave Allin
Dave Gagner
David Seton
Dennis McCord
Derek Krete
Don Gillett
Don Hinnegan
Doug Allin
Doug Anakin
Doug Melvin
Earl Flat Chase
Ed Myers
Ed Wright
Elaine Hinnegan
Fergie Jenkins
Fran Crummer
Gene Dziadura
George Aitken
George Bruette
Harold Gillies
Harold McFarlane
Herb Wakabayashi
Irma (Grant) Isaac
Jim Maynard
Joe Zimmer
Joe Malo
Joelle Batten-Daigneau
John McKay
Karrie Williams
Keith Crummer
Larry Babcock
Larry Lahey
Lloyd Davidson
Marion (Watson) Stanton
Martin Aarts
Max Lenover
Mel Wakabayashi
Mort Giles
Norman Morris 'Chirp'
Peter Gilbert
Randy Rybansky
Richard Doey
Ron Blommers
Ross Babcock
Ron Coristine
Ross Day
Roy Galloway
Roy Oscar 'Doc' Miller
Sandra Tewksbury
Shae-Lynn Bourne
Shirley Pilson
Smoke, R.S.Reynolds
Tyson Parry
Wilfred  Harding


Additional Photos                                  Category Team        

Front Row - Matt Ross, Frank Oostveen, Bob Ostveen, George Denkers, Craig Jones

Back Row - Larry Lahey (coach), John Meko (scorer), Glyn Hughes, Ed Rybansky, Mike Kuni, Calvin Antaya, Frank Rusal, Mark Meko (statistician), Don Hosfeld (statistician) 

Absent - Graham Kemble (timer)

The 1974-75 Panthers were the first Chatham high school team to win a provincial (OFSAA) championship in any sport.

At OFSAA "AA" in Timmins they went undefeated in five games and beat Woodstock College Ave. Secondary School 65-45 in the title game. The team had earlier defeated Windsor W. D. Lowe S. S. 86-72 to become the first Chatham school to defeat a Windsor school for the senior boys SWOSSAA basketball championship.

In 1973 the Ontario Federation of Schools Athletic Association expanded to three divisions (AAA, AA, A) from the existing two. In 1974-75 McGregor, a "AA" school competed well against "AAA" teams. Windsor Lowe, a "AAA" school who lost to McGregor by 14 points, lost by only 1 point to the eventual champions in the OFSAA "AAA" tournament. McGregor also defeated Tillsonburg Glendale who was third at OFSAA "AAA".

In all, the Panthers, coached by Larry Lahey, went through their regular season and playoffs undefeated, winning their last 17 games to finish the year with a 33-8 record. After high school, six of the ten players went on to play on college or university basketball teams.

Front Row - Matt Ross, Bob Oosteveen, Frank Rusal, George Denkers, Mark Meko (statistician)

Back Row - Glyn Hughes, Calvin Antaya, Craig Jones, John Meko (scorer), Graham Kemble (timer), Larry Lahey (coach)

Inducted into Chatham Sports Hall of Fame 2005